Key Stage Four

Years 10 and 11

Key Stage Four

14 to 16 years of age

In Key Stage Four, pupils study a number of compulsory and optional subjects, preparing for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) examinations taken at the end of Year 11. Compulsory IGCSE subjects are: First Language English, English Literature, Mathematics, Co-ordinated Sciences (double award) and Spanish. Students then select three further subjects from the following choices: French or Geography; History or Computer Science; Economics or Art & Design. ISM also offers pupils the chance to study for IGCSE Drama, and French, as after-school activities. In addition, all pupils receive lessons of Physical Education and Sports, Sociedad (aspects of Spanish history, geography and culture not covered by the British curriculum), and Religion or Citizenship. Many pupils in Year 11 are prepared for Confirmation each year.

Further details of Cambridge IGCSEs can be found here.